On 10 April, individuals and companies were honoured by their peers for outstanding achievements in specialised categories related to their digital, safety, educational, inclusionary and operational pursuits. In total 11 award categories were presented to 60 member companies and individuals, each of whom had received nominations from their peers or customers. The awards were distributed during TRSA’s Industry Awards dinner at the association’s 14th Annual Legislative Conference in Washington.  DC NOVO Health Services’ Miami facility, pictured, took top honours with the TRSA Plant of the Year award.

This honour recognises industry-leading facilities for their comprehensive efforts to improve their expertise in supplying, laundering and maintaining linens and uniforms. Winners of this award describe how they achieve goals and surmount obstacles. They cited statistical results across a wide range of indicators from environmental stewardship to productivity improvement in order to document their expertise in a range of areas.

Novo Health Services was honoured for its achievements in improved efficiency, as well as its excellent record in infection control, safety and ergonomics best practices. These combined efforts help to create a work environment that promotes employee retention. Opened in 2022 following a $25-million investment, the 80,000-square-foot NOVO Miami plant has 186 employees and runs two shifts, six days a week.

Charles Edelman, Unitex Healthcare Laundry Services, Elmsford, NY, received the Volunteer Leadership Award. Edelman, Unitex’s corporate safety director, chairs TRSA’s Safety Committee. He’s been a steadfast contributor to TRSA education programs as a speaker and organiser, including the Maintenance Management Institute and the HR, Health & Safety Summit.

The TRSA Industry Awards Dinner is an annual event. It’s never too early to begin working towards earning one or more honours at the next programme. Members are encouraged to visit the awards page on TRSA’s website to learn more about the individual awards and how they can nominate candidates for next year. Click here for details.